In September 2021, the Medicines Patent Pool (MPP) announced a licence agreement with Tandem Nano Ltd. for University of Liverpool’s Unitaid-funded project LONGEVITY long-acting technologies, which, if proven safe and effective could help achieve optimal dosing regimens for malaria chemoprophylaxis, tuberculosis prevention, and hepatitis C cure.

The agreement allows sublicensees worldwide to develop finished products anywhere in the world, and to sell or distribute the resulting medicines for administration to patients in all low- and middle-income countries, on a royalty-free basis.

More information on MPP’s work in long-acting therapeutics

Key Features
Field Prevention and/or treatment of HIV
Eligibility for sublicences Sublicences can be issued to any qualified entity in any country of the world (for development and/or commercialisation)
Manufacturing Allows manufacturing worldwide
Geographical scope for sale Allows for sale in all LMICs. The licence contains a requirement of Affordable Price
Sales outside the licensed territory Allowed if country issues compulsory license, or where the activity does not infringe a licensed patent granted and in force or rely upon licensed know-how
Royalties Sublicences are royalty-free for all supplies to LMICs, in both public and private markets
Quality assurance Products will comply with the following standards: WHO Prequalification Programme (PQ), Global Fund/ Unitaid Expert Review Panel (ERP), US FDA and/or another WHO Listed Regulatory Authority as agreed between MPP & sublicensee
Data exclusivity MPP sublicensee will not seek and will waive, regulatory exclusivity in LMICs in relation to any data relating to licensed products.
Patent disclosure Obligation for licensor to list licensed patents, also for improvements of LA.
A right to maintain and enforce them remains with licensor.
Term Until last licensed patent has expired, lapsed or has been invalidated
Grant back Royalty-free, non-exclusive and sub-licensable licence over any Improvement
Country List
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Congo, democratic Republic of the, Costa Rica, CĂ´te d'Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia (the), Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic of), Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic (the), Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Moldova, Republic of, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, State of Palestine, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, United Republic of, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe